How I Write: My Techniques

This is the way I write and the techniques I use. I want to make it clear that, while these may work for me, they might now work for you. I’m just here to offer some hopefully useful  tips 🙂

  1. I don’t write in chronological order. If I feel like writing a particular scene but I’m at that point in the book, I stop  and open another document and just start writing. It helps me keep my writing on track and helps me keep my writing voice in track.
  2. I cover up the word counter tracker thing on my word doc so I don’t only focus on the word count.
  3. I play music. It helps me stay on track and loosen up if I’m feeling down
  4. Make playlists for your novels! It helps me make sense of the direction of my book and helps me learn about my characters.
  5. Download and fill out character charts. This helps me get into the headspaces of my MC’s and, more importantly, my antagonists.

There you go! Hope theses tips are helpful 🙂

Goodluck to anyone and everyone participating in NaNoWriMo. You got this guys!

Leave a Reply

