Writing Update: FIHV title and cover reveal!

Recently, I’ve been working on a new WIP and I’m super excited about it. Tentatively titled Fire In Her Veins, it can best be described at Frozen meets Pirates of the Caribbean.

Keep reading to learn more about FIHV and to see the cover.

The main character: bisexual. 17. Very shy. Skilled with her affinity. Determined to find her parents murder.

The story:  Frozen (with a twist) meets Pirates of the Caribbean. Few people have affinities (fire, water, earth and air) and my MC is one of them. Murder, romance and magical powers.

The love interest: pansexual. 18. Very confident in herself and her abilities. Loves being on the sea and controlling the CL.

The most difficult and easiest parts to write: The most difficult part of writing this book has been finding my MC’s voice (Safiya). The easiest part has been the world building and character backstories. That’s the one thing I love about fantasy. I can completely create my own world.

The central plot:

Safiya has a secret.

Safiya has always had an affinity for fire, a gift her parents have always treasured and protected.

A gift many others would rather kill her for.

One fateful night, her home is attacked and her parents killed.

She is raised by her grandmother, who acts as regent in her granddaughter’s stead.

Just as she is to be presented as Queen and married off to a man who could care less for her, her affinity is revealed. Saf flees her home, only to be caught by a band of rogue pirates.

She meets their captain, the very alluring Juliana, who decides to hold her for ransom. Knowing her grandmother will never pay her ransom, no matter the love she holds for her only grandchild, she strikes a deal with Juliana, promising her servitude in exchange for her absolute freedom.

She must hide her affinity, for fear of death, but finds this isn’t easy with all the prying eyes.

She must decide what is more important, her freedom or her throne.

Snippet:

“Do you think your parents wanted to trade you?” Juliana asked me, placing a gentle hand on the small of my back.

“I don’t know. I don’t think. Even if they wanted to, my grandmother would never have let them. She understood what my affinity meant, my parents didn’t. It was one of the reasons I was always secluded. No one would let their children near me” I said, head still in hands.”

Fire In Her (2)

Leave a Reply

